LIES Doesn't Live Up to Expectation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LIES Doesn't Live Up to Expectation

I have been playing Nancy Drew games for well over 10 years now, and continue to purchase and play every game even now that I'm an adult. I've noticed in the last few years that the games hold my interest less and less and wondered if it's because I've outgrown them; but replaying the old games like Message in a Haunted Mansion, Ghost Dogs of Moon Lake, and (my personal favorite) Secret of Shadow Ranch has showed me that's not the case. What I love about those games is what was missing from LIES and has been missing from at least the last 7 releases. Here's what I thought about LIES overall:

Plot ★★☆☆☆
    I don't know if it wasn't well explained or if I just wasn't paying attention, but when LIES started I had no idea why Nancy was in Greece and what the mystery even was. I obviously inferred after a few minutes of game play that pieces had gone missing from the museum, but still don't know what Nancy was doing there in the first place. As the "plot" developed it really didn't hold my interest, it just felt like B version of Secret of the Scarlet Hand. The ending was especially disappointing, I felt like there was no race against the clock to catch the culprit and no final task to complete, it sort of just... ended.

Setting ★★★☆☆
    Greece could have been such an incredible setting for the game. It's not that this game was badly made, the design was beautiful like always. However, I would have loved to explore the city like we did in Paris and Venice but once again we're stuck in one location. One thing I loved about the older games is how interactive the setting is, even places and things that aren't important to solving the mystery can be investigated which makes the game more immersive and challenging. The underworld was this setting's biggest redeeming factor. I loved unlocking each section and investigating what was there.