A Longtime Fan's Review

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Longtime Fan's Review

Disclaimer: I hated high school, although middle school was worse ("let's give the tomboy a makeover, tee-hee!"). This game dragged up a lot of bad memories for me the first time I played it in my sophomore year of undergrad. Now that I'm an attorney looking for work in the middle of a pandemic, I thought, let's play this one again for funsies! I remember this game being really lackluster back then... and that hasn't really changed, sadly.

Plot: Nancy Drew goes undercover as Becca Sawyer at an elite, east coast boarding school in upstate New York to try and uncover who is menacing valedictorian candidates at Waverly Academy. This mysterious threat is known only as the Black Cat and beyond leaving threatening notes, the Black Cat is finding ways to make students leave the school at the most critical point of the high school year: mid-term study week.

Setting: Upstate New York is so pretty and quiet. I love it to bits, but I do wish we could’ve seen more of the school beyond the senior dorm, Ramsey Hall. In particular, our sole access to Ramsey Hall involves the first floor and the floor where all the valedictorian candidates live (I’ll get to that later… as it’s such a stupid idea and I can’t wrap my head around it). I wish we could’ve explored more of the grounds. I didn’t mind the setting the way some people did (I found it fine to look at). I wasn’t ever tired of the setting per se; I just wanted more of it.